top of page
  • Writer's pictureEryn LaLonde

Womens Resource Center 2019 Scholarship Recipient

WRC provides over $28k in scholarships to local women

Congratulations, 2019 Scholarship Recipients!

The Women’s Resource offers annual Educational Scholarships to recognize, reward, and encourage female students who are pursuing a higher level of education to reach a realistic goal in preparation for employment, self-sufficiency, and advancement in the community. This year, $28,000 in scholarships were awarded, each of 28 recipients receiving a $1,000 award.

64% of recipients have dependent children living at home; 93% are single, divorced, or widowed; and 89% are below the ALICE (Asset Limited, Income Constrained, Employed) level. Of that, 39% live in Manatee County, 64% live in Sarasota County, and 61% are seeking a degree in health care.

On Sunday, May 19th, the Women’s Resource Center held the Scholarship Award ceremony at the Sarasota Center. The scholarship recipients who were selected demonstrated a high level of commitment and determination to their educational goals. These women have also agreed to participate in The Women’s Resource Center’s mentorship program, a new initiative in 2019 to encourage engagement with WRC programs and services throughout these students’ journey to empowerment through education. Congratulations to the following recipients: Jean Abrams Academic Scholarship Sara Johnson

Anne Beckstein Academic Scholarship Avigayil Klein Beverly Dennis Academic Scholarship Natalie French Entre Nous Academic Scholarship Eryn LaLonde

Karin’s Causes Academic Scholarship Tarra Driskell Linda Mickelberg Memorial Scholarship Angelina Labadie Mary Parker Academic Scholarship Karly Linsberg Kendra Mingleton Jeanette Ocasio Shyla Robinett Trenise Sutton Nancy Schlossberg Academic Scholarship Charlotte Gross Betty Schoenbaum Family Foundation Scholarship Odessa Ammons Shelondo Arroyo Briana Arthur Marjorie Bautista Reesa Bland Juliana Camara Stacey Chaisson Jennifer Chouinard Felicia Phillips Jessica Miles Babe Weiller Memorial Scholarship of the Community Foundation of Sarasota County Tahmina Amiri WRC Scholarship Fund Thelma Upshaw Antonia Ventura Krya Waters Danielle White Diana Martin

For more information, click on the photo above

bottom of page